Medicine wheel four quarters

The term “medicine” is not always just a means for healing. It can, in some belief systems, also refer to the knowledge and power found in every life form. In many cultures around the globe the circle and cross of the medicine wheel is also know as “the four quarters of the world”.

The basic medicine wheel is in four parts and represents the four directions, each with a color, element, and one of the four “races” of the world. North is white, represents air and the animal people. South is red, represents water and plant people. East is yellow, represents fire and human people. Finally, West is black, represents earth and the stone people. Positioning of these may vary among the many medicine wheel traditions found around the world. For example, having south’s color green (for the plant people) instead of red is not uncommon.


2 thoughts on “Medicine wheel four quarters

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s